Guest Reviews

Have you visited the River Cottage recently?
Post your own review here

"Had a fantastic stay at river cottage, extreamly comfortable room with idyllic views of the garden and river from our window. John and Gilly were excellent hosts very welcoming, making you feel at home. John very informitve about the local area and history. Jilly\\\'s superb breakfasts was more than satisfying start to the day. Would recommend a stay at this exclusive B & B. "

Andrew and Samantha Whittle - 27-10-2012

"We have just spent three wonderful days at Gill & John\\\'s beautiful River Cottage. The house itself was in a lovely setting beside the river where Gill brought us a glass of wine and nibbles, just after our arrival, and also a slice of bread, home baked, to feed the trout with which created a fascinating scene as they leapt out of the water to catch the pieces of bread we threw for them. Our bedroom was delightfully furnished and accessorised, very tastefully, all down to Gill with an en suite which was so spotless and perfect it looked as if it had never been used before, with a lovely large shower and supplied with all the toiletries you would ever need on your stay. A communal fridge with fresh milk, and somewhere to keep wine chilled, was always available as were leaflets brochures, books, recommendations for places to eat, walk run & visit which Gill & John were always available to talk to us about. Breakfast was a feast, which Gill cooked to perfection, with home made bread and jams, and the food mostly locally sourced. Their hospitality was unsurpassed and we can only highly recommend that you visit them and enjoy your stay. "

Fenisia & David - 29-07-2012

"We spent two fantastic days here after Easter.This was a place to chill out for us after a busy European trip.It certainly lived up to that.Jean was most welcoming on our arrival and everything had been thought of, even earplugs if there was noise.These I might add were not needed.We had excellent breakfasts and the company in rning was appreciated.The garden was an absoloute joy and even though the weather was not the best we could see how beautiful it was.Sorry we missed John and Gill but you certainly left your perfect establishment in very,very capable hands.We will return on our next UK visit.I must mention the very special on suite and the great toiletries which we appreciated.I cannot find one negative about River Cottage as I think every detail has been thought of. "

John and Josie - 25-04-2012

"We have just spent a most enjoyable 3 days in the area, walking and visitng some of the many local attractions. Easily matching the splendour of the high peaks and large houses is Gilly's and John's wonderful B&B (almost, lierally) on the River Wye, where we were welcomed in a truly friendly and heartwarming manner. In the comfortable and perfectly decorated ensuite bedroom everything had been thought of. In the dining room, the breakfasts were unsurpassed in choice and quality. Throughout, our hosts could not have been more charming or helpful. Thank you very much - we shall be back! "

James and Linda - 20-02-2012

"We had a wonderful 2 night stay at River Cottage. The rooms are beautifully finished and everything has been thought of; Gilli and John are fabulous hosts and I have to honestly say that that Gilli's breakfast is the best we have eaten anywhere in the world!!! We'll definitely return."

Claire and Colin Moore - 07-09-2011

"We have just had a wonderful stay - River Cottage is indeed immaculate, and beautifully decorated: comfortable and welcoming, a traditional feel without being dated. The cottage sits right on the the river at the edge of Ashford-on-the-Water, a picturesque little village within easy walking distance of Monsal head and Bakewell. Gilli & John were such fabulously helpful hosts: friendly, genial, and entertaining, with a gift for preparing sublime breakfasts! We can't recommend River Cottage highly enough - 5 stars! Thank you."

Geoff & Kelly - 30-08-2011

"What a wonderful little gem to find in the heart of the Peak District. Welcomed with warm hospitality and a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding areas, John and Gilly were the perfect hosts in what I'd consider a luxurious residence with impeccable rooms a d a beautiful setting. Breakfast was yummy and if truth be told, I wish we could have stayed longer!! Will definitely be back. Was magical and made our weekend of walking a complete and utter pleasure, despite the obvious fact noted by Gilly that I'm not really the walking type!! Thank you to you both for making our weekend memorable x"

Louisa & Mark - 08-08-2011

"I choose to stay at River Cottage in July whilst attending the Buxton Festival, largely as a result of being unimpressed with the accommodation in the town itself. Am very pleased to report that my fastidiousness was richly rewarded with an experience which will linger long in the memory. River Cottage is a beautiful building in an idyllic setting and is run by the most welcoming hosts imaginable. Delightful breakfasts are served by candle-light and trout can be fed in the gentle swirl of the riverbend at the bottom of the perfectly manicured garden....et in arcadia ego... "

Damian - 02-08-2011

"My husband and I recently stayed at River Cottage for the weekend and had an absolutely wonderful time here. We'd had a stressful journey and arrived a tad frazzled, however as soon as we met Gilly I can truly say our negative feelings melted away instantly. She gave us such a warm welcome and showed us around and most importantly pointed us in the right direction to the local pub! (Bulls Head) where we had an excellent meal. River Cottage is an absolute gem and beautifully furnished. We stayed in the delightful room 1 with a stunning bathroom that you could swing several cats in. When you step outside of the bedroom you are faced with a gorgeous picture window that looks down onto a beautiful garden beside the river. Whatever you choose for breakfast you won't be disappointed, the food is mostly local and freshly cooked and the sausages highly recommended! The tables are beautifully layed and John is a wonderful breakfast host who skilfully eliminates those uncomfortable B&B hushed breakfasts. This is a very special place indeed, Gilly and John have the rare balance of providing tip top accommodation and service but in a relaxed and informal style which made us feel more like a house guest than a paying customer. I can't recommend River Cottage higly enough. (July 2011)"

Eleanor - 18-07-2011

"We would just like to say, what a fantastic weekend we have just had at River Cottage. Reading the reviews when we booked, you often wonder if really accurate ? Well everything about this place was spot on, from the welcome on friday night. To the amazing breakfasts, to the attention to detail. I wanted something special as I was proposing to Michelle whilst at Chatsworth over the weekend. I could not have planned it any better, and with John & Gilly's place it really was something special ! We will be back that is for sure, and definitely highly recommend it. the future Mr & Mrs Hutton "

Bernard & Michelle - 08-05-2011

"Me an my partner have thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the river cottage. The room were clean and beautifully decorated with a newly furnished ensuite... The amount of thought that has been put into the room from wine glasses to a torch to scale is unbeatable. The breakfast in the morning was delightful, homemade jam, organic eggs and the large variety of breakfast options to suit everyone. The garden was also very well maintained and nice. I would like to that John and Gillian for making the 2 night stay so comfortable."

Pui Lam - 15-04-2011

"We have just stayed at River Cottage for 2 nights. The accommodation is absolutely beautiful with John & Gilly being fantastic hosts. There was so much attention to detail to make our stay so enjoyable and seem like home from home. We had a lovely meal in the Ashford Arms and thanks to John we made a reservation and were able to get in. The rooms are very comfortable with beautiful furnishings and decor and spotlessly clean. We will definitley stay again if we are in the area. A big thank you"

Jane & Eddie Heath - 29-10-2010

"We had a fantastic time away and couldn't have asked for more. John and Gilly's hospitality was exceptional and was more than happy to cater for Carls cheeky appetite. Enjoyed the walking and the lovely views. Gorgeous food at both the Bulls Head and especially The White Lion in Gt Longstone. Will definitely recommend to friends and family. Thank you x "

Carl and Bex - 08-08-2010

"My partner and I really enjoyed our weekend here. The breakfasts are fabulous and everyone feels really relaxed and there's a really fun atmosphere. Early on our first morning we threw bread in the river for the trout and it was such a magical moment watching them jumping out of the water in the sunlight. \we also found lots to do around Ashford and some really cosy pubs and the walks are breathtaking. Mike and Sean"

Michael Hurd - 22-04-2010

"We arrived at River Cottage utterly exhausted after 'one of those weeks'. The welcome could not have been warmer and dinner at the Bulls Head in the village was really very good indeed. We would recommend the steak and ale pie! Gilly and John are tremendous hosts and the breakfast at River Cottage is of a very high standard (almost on a par with the conversation and the banter). Our room, although the only non-ensuite one, was truly charming, very well appointed and immaculately clean. We left River Cottage after a two night stay feeling totally refreshed and cannot wait to return in the Summer. "

Peter and Sylvia - 17-02-2010

Page launched on September 10th 2007

To book, please email us on info@rivercottageashford.co.uk
or call us on 01629 813327.